Whew. What a day. Saving the planet and righting the wrongs in the universe? That chit is haaaard work.

Oh wait, I didn’t save anything? Are you serious? And here, I thought I worked so hard. (sad face)

Ok, so you will give me that one save right? The one where I told Nannygoat to get the HELL outta there and she dickered and bickered and took ONE hour to go and then everything that was where she was went UP IN SMOKE? Oh, I see. So the sweet torture I went through waiting two and a half hours without contact (who doesn’t have a cell phone? MY daughter) for her to travel what usually takes 20 minutes it was just….life? Gotcha. I am there.

We are our own ‘evacuation center’. We are not evacuated, but we have five evacuees staying with us. In spite of the fact that we are literally trapped between several fires,:inland and without road access out. No problemo. We are here because I know we are safe here. I feel it, I smell it and I sense it.

For now. But really, its looking very good for where we are and we are taking turns monitoring all night. I (obviously) got first shift. I have had three hours sleep since day before yesterday and at my age….well, just look out.

I have tried all day to come up with words that describe the feelings I have about watching my home burn down on live television (as in I was watching the news and suddenly it became very, very personal). I figured it out, there are no words. I have cried a little bit, but really I see all the signs of shock in myself. How do you know your own self has shock? Isn’t that the exact wrong way that happens? It is not just our house….but the kids coming by and seeing a shot here and there and hollering “OMG. That is Nicole’s house” (who I taught CCD for 5 years; 2nd grade to 5th grade) and “OMG, that is Mrs. Fox’s house” and on and on. Not that I did not know these things as soon as I looked at the video, but that I was already feeling that twist in my stomach at those sites and it was worse knowing how it hurt my kids.

