I was raised on an eclectic mix of music. My parents were goody-goody 50s kids in a ‘hippie’ age, but were susceptible to the lure of ‘rock and roll’. I grew up to The Carpenters, Elton John, The Moody Blues, Carole King, and Elvis. My grandparents always had music on so I also was influenced by Herb Albert and The Tijuana Brass, Frank Sinatra and big band. When I was 11 years old my parents divorced and I got a step-dad. Thus began my Country Music Years. Which coincided with my teenage years = peer pressure = rock and disco (yes I was a skater…man could I skate to Foxy [and that is skate with four wheels]). So it is not odd that I have a great love of all music (except Rap and Opera, neither of which I can stand for more than a few seconds). Mr. Vixen was a strict hard rocker when we met. I met him most the way and many a teenage day was spent with Van Halen, Blue Oyster Cult, Pat Travers, The Outlaws, Lynard Skynard and Black Sabbath. He met me part way and learned about Ohio Players, Supertramp, and Earth Wind & Fire. We were never without music. Never. There was a great laugh at my wedding when our neighbors informed Mr. Vixen that they always knew when he was coming to pick me up because they could hear his car stereo six blocks away.

Now I have a lot of favorite driving songs. A L O T. But seriously, nothing in the world compares to Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody. I must turn it on as loud as possible and I must sing along as loud as possible. I am simply compelled. It happened just the other day and probably looked strange: 44yo chick, alone, driving a minivan, with Queen blasting. All the windows down and singing off key as loudly as possible. That is why that scene from Wayne’s World cracked me up when I saw the movie, because that was me, Mr. Vixen and Mr. Vixen’s twin brother (sans the maryjane for me, I am taking the Fifth regarding the twins and maryjane).

So tell me, what is your favorite turn up the volume, blast it out, sing/scream along song for driving?

