I come from large, close, Irish, Catholic family. In a family like ours cousins are not distant relatives, be they first or second. They are more like aunts and uncles, best friends, or nieces and nephews depending on your corresponding ages. At least once a year when I was growing up (sometimes more) we would have family reunions. I know a little bit about a lot of them, but I did not know that one of my relatives by marriage was the first American POW to escape a Vietnamese prison camp. I remember meeting him a few times as a young child and, heck, he might have even been at my wedding (there were so many people). I know his brother and my cousin were. At any rate, it is a fascinating story and now it’s become a movie and not just  any movie, but one by Werner Herzog and starring Christian Bale. That is just so cool. Check it out. If you go see it, let me know what you think!

rescuedawn_1.jpg

