It’s hard to watch your family implode. My grama has been diagnosed with cancer. She has five children, the oldest is my mother. Now this is a hard time for all of them and watching them struggle to get through these early stages is hard. Communication is difficult and feelings are getting hurt. It seems obvious from the outside, but I know that it is not on the inside. It tears me apart to see them hurting so much and hurting each other. Control seems to be an issue also. My grandmother wants to be in control and each of them, in their own way, are struggling for control of their own. We are very tight-knit family, Irish Matriarch-type, and this is a futile struggle. No one but God is in charge now, but its not always easy to give it over. I pray for them and us, our unit. We must remain strong.

